Online Processing Limitations
►The City of Lumberton and the Lumberton Municipal Court make no guarantees, promises, or warranties regarding the accuracy of information provided in this site.
►There is no guarantee that this online payment application will show all of your unpaid tickets. If your ticket does not display, call 409-755-1491.
►Use of this service to submit payment constitutes acknowledgement that the City of Lumberton and the processor of electronic payments assume no responsibility for data entered by service users.
►I hereby understand that in accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 27.14(c), case payment will result in a waiver of a jury trial and a finding of guilty, which may be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
The City of Lumberton Municipal Courts’ convenient and secure online ticket payment service may be used to discharge fines, fees, and most other court assessments. The Court will process online payments usually within 24 hours of acceptance of this service, during normal business hours, Monday thru Friday, 8 a.m. till 5 p.m. If you have an active warrant issued on a ticket, you must make sure you print your paid receipt and be able to produce it to an officer for any citations paid after hours or weekends. You can print your receipt online once you receive confirmation of your credit card approval.
Payment confirmation — Payee will be notified instantly when payment is approved.
It is your responsibility to ensure that payments are made in sufficient time to meet required deadlines.
VIOLATIONS THAT WILL GENERATE A SURCHARGE PAYABLE TO THE TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY INCLUDE BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO:
$250.00 per year for three years for driving without insurance or driving with an invalid license
$100.00 per year for three years for driving without a license.
Also, drivers who accumulate six points against their license for moving violations during a three year period will be required to pay $100.00 for three years. Additional points will cost another $25.00.
If you pay a no insurance citation you will be subject to surcharges by the State of Texas.
It is suggested by this court that should you obtain insurance after the issuance of the citation, and you were not involved in an at fault accident, that you appear before the judge with such proof.
►PLEA OF NOT GUILTY: On a plea of NOT GUILTY, the case must be set for trial. Do this by appearing in person at the address on the citation or through your attorney.
►PLEA OF GUILTY:
By a plea of guilty, you admit that you committed the criminal offense charged.
►PLEA OF NOLO CONTENDERE:
(NO CONTEST) –A plea of nolo contendere means that you do not contest the State’s charge against you. You will almost certainly be found guilty, unless you are eligible and successfully complete a driving safety course and/or court ordered probation.
Also, a plea of nolo contendere may not be used against you in a subsequent civil suit for damages.
Tickets Which May Not Be Handled Online:
►JUVENILES: Persons 16 years or younger are expected to appear in person with a parent or guardian when pleading GUILTY or when having a court trial. JUVENILE CITATIONS CANNOT BE PAID BY CREDIT CARD ONLINE.
►MINORS: Persons under 21 years of age that are charged with an alcohol related offense are required by law to appear in open court. (The Code of Criminal Procedure Article 45.0215) Minors under the age of 21 charged with an alcohol-related violation must appear before the judge in open court before payment of a fine will be accepted. Those under 18 that have been charged with an alcohol-related violation must appear with a parent or guardian
►Cases which have already been dismissed, paid, cash bond posted, or in which the defendant has been incarcerated or otherwise disposed, cannot be paid online.
Tickets Which May Be Handled Online:
►Only tickets that have been filed with the Court by the issuing officer and that have not yet been disposed may be accessed by this service.
FAILURE TO MAINTAIN FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
The Texas Transportation Code allows for dismissal of the offense if your insurance was valid on the date of the violation. It is your responsibility to provide proof of insurance. If it was valid, the citation will be dismissed with no charge. You can fax a copy to 409-751-4212. It is suggested that you verify with the court that your fax was received.
If you pay a no insurance citation you will be subject to surcharges by the State of Texas.
Any attempts to pass a faulty or altered insurance card to have a case dismissed will result in a criminal charge filed against you.
The following violations may be dismissed with a $10.00 dismissal fee with proof that the violation was remedied within 20 working days after the date of the offense:
Expired Driver’s License (expired for less than 60 days)– Required proof is renewal receipt or temporary license.
Expired Motor Vehicle Inspection (expired for less than 60 days) – Required proof is receipt of inspection that clearly identifies the vehicle inspected and that it passed.
Expired Motor Vehicle Registration (expired for less than 60 days)– Required proof is receipt of registration that clearly identifies vehicle registered and the required penalty fee was paid to the County Tax Assessor.
Failure to Report Change of Address – Required proof is a receipt or temporary license reflecting the appropriate updated information on the driver’s license.
Please contact the court for other dismissable violations.
Payments for defensive driving or deferred dispostion cannot be handled online.
DRIVING SAFETY COURSE:
(Holders of a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) are not eligible)
If you are charged with certain moving traffic offenses, you may be eligible to take a driving safety course (DSC) to dismiss the charge. You may not take a driving safety course without first obtaining permission from the court and only one violation can be dismissed. The request must be made on or before the appearance date on the citation.
Your request must be made in person, by counsel, or by mail.
To request the Driver Safety Course by mail include with your request a photo copy of your valid Texas driver's license, current insurance card and money order or cashier's check made payable to Lumberton Municipal Court.
Please send your request to:
Lumberton Municipal Court, 120B East Chance, Lumberton, TX 77657.
If you would like a receipt and a list of classes mailed to you, please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope.
If you are under age 17, you must appear in open court with a parent or guardian to make the request.
At the time of the request in person or by mail, you must do the following:
1. Plead guilty or no contest
2. Pay court costs ($114.00 if the violation was not in a school zone, or $139.00 if the violation was in a school zone.)
3. Present proof of liability insurance; and
4. Present a valid Texas driver’s license or permit. (Active military and spouses or dependent children of active military may present a valid driver’s license from any state.)
To be eligible, you:
1. Cannot have taken a driving safety course or motorcycle operator’s course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months from the date of the current offense;
2. Cannot currently be taking the course for another traffic violation;
3. Cannot be the holder of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or have held a CDL at the time of the offense; and
4. Have not committed one of the following offenses:
• Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene;
• Leaving Scene of Accident;
• Passing a School Bus;
• A serious traffic violation, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators;
• An offense in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present;
• Speeding 25 mph or more over the limit
The case will be deferred for 90 days.
During that time, you must:
1. Complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator’s course approved by the Department of Public Safety and present the completion certificate to the court by the end of the 90 days.
The judge may, in his/her sole discretion, defer disposition on most cases. The holder of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) is not eligible for deferred disposition on moving traffic violations. Costs must be paid when the court grants deferred. If you complete the required terms, the case will be dismissed. The deferred period cannot exceed 180 days. You must appear in person to request Deferred Disposition.
Please email us or call 409-755-1491 if you have any suggestions or comments about this service. This is a secure site and no one will be able to read your information other than authorized City of Lumberton personnel.
We will only collect personally identifiable information (such as name, title, company name,address, telephone number or e-mail address) that you voluntarily provide through our Web site or e-mail correspondence. We will collect general information (such as the type of browser you use, the files you request, and the domain name and country from which you request information) to improve our Web site and better meet your needs.
Use of Information
Before we collect any personally identifiable information, we will provide an explanation for the possible use of your data. The information you supply will be used by us to respond to your inquiries or supply you with requested information on us. It may be necessary, if required by law or if pertinent to judicial or governmental investigations, to release your personally identifiable information. If you have submitted personal information to us electronically and would like it removed or modified, please contact us. We will use reasonable efforts to comply with your request.
This Web site contains links to other sites. We do not endorse or otherwise accept responsibility for the content or privacy policies of those sites.
We guard your online transactions! The actual transmission of your payment information over the Internet is at its safest when your Web browser can make an encrypted connection, and for your protection, we will only process your order if you can make such a connection. If you have trouble with the encrypted connection, your computer, Web browser,or Internet connection cannot support SSL (Secure Socket Layer), then you'll want to contact us to complete your order.
Online Refund Policy
In the event that your purchase from us was charged to your credit card or paid by check in error or without your permission, We will honor your request to cancel the original transaction and refund your payment in full, as long as the request is made within ninety days of the original transaction, and in the case of merchandise, the merchandise is returned.
If your original payment was made by credit card, the period of ninety days will begin from the transaction processing date. If payment was made by check, the period of ninety days will begin from the date the check was written. we reserve the right to revise this policy at any time.