Welcome to the City of Kennesaw Property Tax Payment Portal!

The following service is available:

You may pay your property taxes online using Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.

Payments processed after 4:00 p.m. (EST) will post the following business day; any penalties accrued during this time may apply.

If you choose to pay online with VISA, MC, AMEX, or Discover, a 3% fee and $3.50 per transaction fee for online credit/debit card payments.  $1.25 fee per ECheck transaction paid online.

Other Methods of Payment

For your convenience, you may pay by check, money order, credit/debit card, or cash using one of the following methods.

By mail: 2529 J.O. Stephenson Avenue, Kennesaw, GA, 30144. Please make the check payable to the City of Kennesaw Property Tax Department.

In-person: The City of Kennesaw Tax Department is located at City Hall, 2529 J.O. Stephenson Avenue. Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Payments made using debit or credit card are subject to a 3% (of the total due) convenience fee.

DropBox: A 24-hour deposit mailbox (white) is located at the entrance of City Hall, 2529 J.O. Stephenson Avenue. All payments received after hours will be posted the next business day. No cash, please.

Property Tax General Information

The City of Kennesaw Finance Department is responsible for billing, collecting and disbursing city property taxes.  Taxes are generated on property values that are determined by the Cobb County Tax Assessor’s Office.

Taxable property includes not only real estate but also personal property; boats, airplanes, and business assets. Cobb County is responsible for collecting the city taxes on motor vehicles, timber, and mobile homes – the City of Kennesaw does not directly collect these.

Taxes are billed or levied in the fall of each tax year for the period of January 1 through December 31 of that year. Annual property tax bills are mailed October 1 and are due by December 1.

Basic Homestead Exemption To qualify, property owners must own and occupy their home as their permanent residence as of January 1 of the current year. This exemption must be applied for at Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office.

The City of Kennesaw does not offer this exemption.

Change of Address In order to change the mailing address for a property tax bill, the owner must submit a written, signed, and dated request to the Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office either by fax (770) 528-8679 or mail to Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office at P.O. Box 649, Marietta, Georgia 30061. Click Here for Change of Address Form

Over 65 Exemption Residents who have homestead exemption with Cobb County and are 65 years of age on January 1 (must provide proof of age with driver’s license or Georgia I.D.). This is the only exemption that must be applied for through the City of Kennesaw. Click Here for 2022 Senior Property Tax Exemption Form  

Tax Sale Listing View a listing or property taxes scheduled for the November tax sale.  Tax Sale is held the first Tuesday of November. (Amounts listed are not final as they are subject to additional interest, penalty, and fees)

Important dates and deadlines

January 1

  • For senior exemption applicant must be 65 on or before January 1
  • For disability exemption applicant must be declared disabled by January 1
  • Status of ownership/occupancy is determined on January 1
  • Status of property tax determined by January 1

April 1

  • All exemptions (City or County) must be received by April 1
  • All Personal Property Tax return forms must be received by April 1

Taxes due 60 days after they are mailed